College of Charleston Women's Golf: Cougars To Defend CAA Title In 2014-15


Click Here For 2014-15 College of Charleston Women’s Golf Schedule


CHARLESTON, SC August 21, 2014 – The defending Colonial Athletic Association champion College of Charleston women’s golf team will kick off its fall season with the Powerade Cougar Classic to be held on Sept. 14-16 at Yeamans Hall Club in Hanahan, S.C.

CofC Cougars women's golf

The annual tournament is one of the many highlights on the 2014-15 schedule for the Cougars as they play host to 10 teams that finished ranked in the final Top 25 rankings a year ago, including defending national champion Duke and 2011 national champion UCLA.


“This year’s schedule is a fun and challenging one,” said 2014 CAA Coach of the Year Jamie Futrell, who enters his 19th season at The College. “We get to travel to some great places this year against some of the best teams in country starting with our first tournament of the fall – the Powerade Cougar Classic.”


The Cougars continue fall tournament play at the Wyoming Cowgirl Desert Intercollegiate on Sept. 27-28 in Palm Desert, Calif., the CSU Wendy’s Invitational on Oct. 6-7 in Mt. Pleasant, S.C., the Mercedes-Benz Collegiate Championship on Oct. 17-19 in Knoxville, Tenn., and the Palmetto Intercollegiate on Oct. 26-28 on Kiawah Island, S.C.


The spring slate will feature competition at the Westbrook Spring Invitational on Feb. 22-23, 2015, in Peoria, Ariz., the Edwin Watts/Kiawah Island Spring Classic on March 1-3 on Kiawah Island, S.C., the Briar’s Creek Invitational on March 23-24 on Johns Island, S.C., the Bryan National Intercollegiate on April 3-5 in Browns Summit, N.C., and the 2015 CAA Women’s Golf Championship on April 17-19 at St. James Plantation in Southport, N.C.


CofC returns 2014 CAA Women’s Golfer and Rookie of the Year Laura Fuenfstueck (Frankfurt, Germany). The sophomore, who earned individual medalist honors at last year’s CAA Championship, is joined by lone senior C.C. Buford (San Antonio, Texas) and junior Mary Chandler Bryan (Chapin, S.C.), who both qualified for the U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship this summer. Bryan was an All-CAA First Team selection.


Other returners from last year’s CAA Championship and NCAA Regional-qualifying squad include junior Morgan Webber (Moore, S.C.), a 2014 All-CAA Second Team selection, junior Louise Olsson (Uddeholm, Sweden), junior Julia Neumann (Berlin, Germany), junior Stacey Tomlinson (Greeleyville, S.C.), junior Michelle Black (Asheville, N.C.) and sophomore Vici Drechsler (Olching, Germany).